Focus T25 Full Review

on

t25I have been meaning to post this for a while but I kept putting it off because I felt guilty. Guilty that I haven’t worked out in almost 2 weeks, 2 WEEKS!!! However it was beyond my control. The only reason I have finally decided to post this is because I plan to get back into my workout routine it today.

I successfully completed the workout schedule! However, I took a weeks break between Beta and Gamma to recover from running a half marathon which I made up for by doing week 1 of Gamma twice. I won’t go into too much detail about the DVD itself because I think I have more than covered that in my previous reviews which can all be found here:ย https://funkyforyou.wordpress.com/tag/focus-t25/

General pros and cons of the DVD are below:

Pros

  • Only takes 30 minutes
  • Shaun T and his demonstrators are motivating
  • The modified workouts are actually modified! Even if you have never done any form of exercise, youย can do them!
  • There’s enough variety to stop you from getting bored
  • Despite it being just 30 minutes, you work up a serious sweat!
  • You don’t need much space or equipment (a mat/mini mat, some weights, a bottle of water and a towel)
  • There’s a good balance of cardio and strength training

Cons

  • Some of the workout sequences can be a bit tough to get the hang of if your general coordination is not very good, especially in the Speed videos.
  • The warm up and cool down sections may be too short for some
  • To really get great results, this DVD is best paired with a great meal plan. Since it’s only 30 minutes, you need all the help you can get to get that body into shape so get a great meal plan to keep those calories down!
  • This is not really a con but I think it’s worth mentioning: too many burpees!!! I detest burpees with a passion, Shaun T is evil.

Results

I got rid of some belly fat, toned my arms and increased my general strength ( I can now do a full pull up!). I lost about 3-5 inches all over (arms, waist, thighs) and about 5kgs too!

I am not concerned about weight as much as I am about fat. At this point I would like to tone, shred more stomach fat and lose a few inches on my thighs, nothing major.

Overall the dreams Shaun T sells are real. If you keep up with the program and don’t slack diet wise, this will give you good results.

And yes I will show some before and after pictures soon!

On to the next one…

For my next DVD I am giving Tony Horton’s P90x3 a try. It is also a Beachbody DVD so the formula is pretty similar to Shaun T’s. 30 mins, about 3 months to complete and unlike Focus T25 there are 3 types of calendars to chose from that are formulated for different goals (building mass, getting lean, or general weight loss). It also comes with a nutrition guides that work in tandem with the various calendars. I will give more details about the DVD after I successfully reach week 2. I also want to start my abs and squat challenges again and finish them this time around!

So that’s it! I personally love this DVD and will definately be coming back to it in a couple of months after my body forgets the pain.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Viv says:

    I like the fact you can do a pull up even though the program doesn’t really include pull ups. That means your strength is all round and not just move specific. Great job! And keep the reviews coming ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Brandy says:

      True! Didn’t think about it like that! I actually wanna do it again already! But P90x3 must be done for reviewing purposes, lol.

  2. Sam Rusoke says:

    Still stuck with first video of Insanity..the shame ๐Ÿ™‚ !!!

    1. Brandy says:

      Hahahaha!!! Force yourself to do the second video!!! Just do it! (insert Nike tick here) ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

