Confronting the horrors of Rwandan genocide

My friend and blogger Thalefang Charles took a road trip through East Africa that included a stop in Rwanda. While there he visited one of the Genocide memorial museums. One hopes such horrific events will never take place again in any country.

#thalefang

“One soldier came up to the house. I was sitting with my baby boy on my lap. He grabbed the child and threw him against the wall. He died from the impact… At dusk on the sixth day, I was raped by two gangs of Interahamwe. A third gang gave me a hoe and ordered me to dig my grave.” – Anne-Marie Bucyana, Rwandan genocide survivor

The entrance to the Kigali Genocide Memorial, even here visitors are searched with metal detectors. But it is free of charge The entrance to the Kigali Genocide Memorial, even here visitors are searched with metal detectors. But it is free of charge

A visit to the Kigali Memorial Centre is traumatising. Thankfully my mind has a unique way of dealing with trauma. When I meet a traumatising situation it switches off and engage in what I term ‘fiction mode’. Denial, you might call it. This prevents the tears and shock. Some people say it is being ‘heartless’. But touring the Rwandan genocide memorials was enough to…

View original post 1,160 more words

Leave a Reply

