In my ear: Valerie June, Lorde and Allie.

It’s been a while since I’ve done an “In my ear” post and that’s mainly because I haven’t been putting much effort into looking for new interesting artists. I’ve been consumed by commercially successful artists like Drake, Eminem and recently Beyonce. However I still love the “underdog”-using quotations since some of these underdogs now have commercial success, e.g Lorde.

Valerie June

Lets start with Valerie June whose gorgeous crown of locs I’ve seen on many hair blogs. She’s from Tennessee and would be placed in the folk/blues/bluegress category. It’s certainly a departure from what I usually listen to but a particular song caught my ear and I was sold.

valerie-june

Her debut album (as a signed artist) is called “Pushin on a stone” and I love it. Read up on the lady here and listen to my favorite song in that album below…

Lorde

Lorde is a 17 year old New Zealander who released her debut album “Pure Heroine” earlier this year. Her musical influences include Etta James, Otis Redding, Cat Stevens, Neil Young, Fleetwood Mac, Grimes and the band Sleigh Bells among others. Her music sound would be described as  ambient, art pop, dark wave, electronica, indietronica, minimal and synthpop. It’s surprising that her sound has so much mainstream appeal because she’s anything but mainstream in the way she sounds and looks.

Lorde

Her sound is also very mature and nothing about it says teenager. I like the darkness of her music because it’s dark without being depressing. I can listen to every song on her album and one I can’t stop playing is “Buzzcut season”. Her lead single was “Tennis Courts” but I first heard her on her second single and number 1 hit “Royals” which I think all us regular not trust fund having people can relate to. Check out a performance of “Buzzcut season” she did on Studio Q below…

Allie

Allie is an artist I came across through the Afro Punk Facebook page, they posted a link to one of her videos and I let curiosity get the better of me. I was pleasantly surprised to find a fro bearing Canadian soul singer. I loved the video of “Cross my mind” (below) and went out of my way to hunt her work down.

She’s a tough one to track down online so in case you’re interested, here’s a link to her facebook page to get you started. Her debut EP is called “Strange creature”. I’m in love with “Rlctnt Hstlr” and “She knows” which I couldn’t stop playing when I first got Strange Creature. If you like soul/neo soul/triphop/R&B, don’t pass this girl by.

1472966_372608349540882_1332033093_n

Leave a Reply

