Ripped in 30…again!

Jillian-Michaels-Ripped-in-30I have been slacking on my #TeamFitness posts but luckily I haven’t been slacking on my workouts, well….not intentionally anyway.

About 2 weeks ago I traveled to my home country of Malawi and so I was unable to do any kind of workout for 2 weeks. I was traveling light so carrying my weights and exercise mat would have been impossible. And since I was in Malawi for a wedding, my days consisted of very early mornings and late nights so squeezing a workout in was also not possible.

However, as soon as I got back and got some rest, I jumped right back into it! I decided to start my 30 day shred again from level 1. I want to do it continuously without any major breaks in between so I can really maximize the benefits of the workout. Level 1 sucked on day 1 but after day 3 I was breezing through it. Then after 7 days I moved on to level 2 which is currently making me beg for mercy. Nothing I hate more than plank jacks, mountain climbers and squat thrusts! In circuit 1 during the cardio section, you do plank jacks for one minute and mountain climbers for one minute, it’s torture!

260434790921980798BOBv8ZQkc no-crunch-10_0 squat_thrusts_18m9hm8-18m9hphI can’t wait to move on to 3 just so I can get away from those 3 exercises. But knowing Jillian, there’s another plank based exercise in my future.

I haven’t been as thorough with my biweekly 30 minute jogs or yoga work outs though, at least not this week. I haven’t been feeling well so the most I can muster energy for is the 30 mins required for Ripped in 30. Maybe next week when I’m better I’ll resume my jogging and yoga.

I have started a squat challenge too, tryna lift my buns! So far so good! I’ve seen such good before and after pics online I couldn’t resist giving it a try. Currently on day 7.

tumblr_midnfppwu71qg6je7o1_500

I also tried something different last week though and joined a friend during his basketball workout, that was exhausting! I might do that every now and then for the sake of variety.

After Ripped in 30 I’m planning to give Shaun T’s T25 a go, check out the trailer here.

Excited! As far as results, nothing major yet but my stomach area seems to be slowly deflating (haha!) but I will not rest till I have a baby 6 pac showing. I might take up an abs challenge soon to push that process along. I will of course put up the before and after photos once I am done with Ripped in 30.

How is your fitness journey going? Remember, like Jillian says, “UNLESS YOU PUKE, FAINT OR DIE, KEEP MOVING!!!!”

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Nay says:

    Keep at it girl, if ever you want a change in flow you can always come train with the rugby team as well. Mondays and Wednesdays , you wont regret!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Might take you up on that! 🙂

  2. Lebo says:

    Wow feeling inspired. I’m doing the ripped in 30 and the 6 week six pack workout. its tough but I’m loving seeing the weight fall off.

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Yeah it’s tough to keep up! My workouts usually go to hell when weekends come around. Currently i haven’t worked out since Friday, smh. But I’ll jump back into it today.

Leave a Reply

