Back to the future: 90s Kosher edition

So I’ve been out of the blogging routine for a minute but I’m easing my way back into it now. I thought I’d start with something fun; a look back at the awesome 90s themed Kosher session that I attended a couple weeks ago.

The 90s are coming back fashion wise, with a few adjustments of course. Back to the chokers, half tops, baggy jeans for females, high waisted everything and dark lipstick. I am all for that! The guys can dig out the Timberland boots and bandannas too.

Musically the 90s hold a special place in my heart and so I could not resist going down memory lane with the music that defined my childhood (aside from my dads old school records of course). Who doesn’t love those heartbreak ballads or slow jams the 90s were known for? Sadly they’ve been replaced with the up tempo party jams of today. But every era must have it’s own sound, change is constant.

When I saw this poster on Facebook I already knew I was going to attend! Just last year I had a 90s themed birthday party and I was so ready to jump into a 90s frame of mind again.

1264577_10151782183956245_2099054440_oAnd so on Saturday evening, with a camera in tow, I danced the night away to Shabba Ranks, Brandy, Aaliyah, Busta Rhymes and many for artists that were all that and a bag of chips in my younger years. Some people did the right thing and came dressed in the theme, others didn’t but we’ll let that slide (this time!). Photos below.

The people….IMG_6725 - Copy IMG_6726 - Copy IMG_6729

My cousin Tania with Dj Ozzy
My cousin Tania with Dj Ozzy
IMG_6796
With rapper and host for the night Chub Heightz

??????????????????????????????? IMG_6768

The outfits…

He was giving me late 80s early 90s afrocentric hiphop vibes, loved it!
He was giving me late 80s early 90s afrocentric hiphop vibes, loved it!
He updated the afrocentric hiphop trend and it worked!
He updated the afrocentric hiphop trend and it worked!
That tee, gold!
That tee, gold!
Gangster rap was also big in the 90s and he got it right!
Gangster rap was also big in the 90s and he got it right!

I was going for a MC Hammer backup dancer look, did I get it right?

075

Me and two male models I've met in previous jobs.
Me and two male models I’ve met in previous jobs.
Dj Fauz on the left, Chub Heightz on the right.
Dj Fauz on the left, Chub Heightz on the right.
#Fail He let me take a photo, smh.
#Fail He let me take a photo, lol!

Good times! I hope they do one every year!

Leave a Reply

