Ripped in 30 + Yoga meltdown update!

Time for another #TeamFitness update!

Jillian-Michaels-Ripped-in-30

So I’ve just completed level one of Jillian Michael’s Ripped in 30 DVD and so far so good…. It’s more intense that the 30 day shred and I’m running low on motivation these days because I know just how much work is needed to get through it! It’s 20 minutes just like the shred was and employs the same 3 minutes strength, 2 minutes cardio and 1 minute abs formula Jillian loves. Equipment required is some weights and an exercise mat. It has 4 levels and Jillian suggests you work out 5/6 days a week and rest for a day at least. Each level should take you 7 days so that by the time you’re done with all the 4 levels, about a month has passed. I am working out 5 days a week so I rest for 2 days. I thought I could do it 6 days a week but after day 1 I knew those were lofty dreams! I also got inspired to add running and yoga to my routine. Don’t ask me why…

I try to run twice a week and keep it at 30 minutes or less. I am not too concerned about increasing my running distances yet because I’m just trying to get my body used to running again for now. The last two times I have ran it felt better than the first time I began running regularly a year or so ago and I attribute this to my strength training. However I still feel like coughing up a lung at the end of the run so my body still has some adjusting to do.

Yoga has surprisingly been so much fun! Once again it is a Jillian Michaels DVD and it’s called Yoga Meltdown. It has 2 levels but there is no time limit on them unlike her other DVDs. It’s basically a home power yoga workout and you can do it as often as you wish. Both levels are about 30 minutes, level one works more on your upper body strength while level two puts your legs to the test.

Warrior 3 pose
Warrior 3 pose

I had my own assumptions about yoga before I started this DVD and honestly thought it would do nothing for me. Boy was I wrong! Granted it’s power yoga and not regular yoga but it made me sweat and I felt so weak after the first run through. It really tests your agility, your core strength, ability to balance and control your body. And after my first time, it was clear I have none of those! After about a week of doing level 1 every other day I have drastically improved but I’m not great yet. My plan is to continue with this level till I can keep up with the lady in the video that demonstrates the advanced version of the poses. She kicks ass! I had thought I could alternate between level 1 and 2 but after a quick browse through that video I know it ain’t happening! Some of those poses are so serious.

Side plank with a toe lock
Side plank with a toe lock

I would never have considered myself a yoga lover but I am sold. I cannot wait till my flexibility and strength builds and I can do the poses with perfect form. It will take time though! Check out level 1 below…

Another thing I love about Jillian is how normal she sounds! I browsed through other yoga videos on YouTube and the instructors sound so odd. It’s as though they are trying too hard to sound “soothing”. Jillian sounds normal, she’s not putting on a “TV voice”.

So my full workout schedule now is as follows:

3 days a week: Yoga Meltdown level 1 followed by Ripped in 30 level 2

2 days a week: A 30 minute run followed by Ripped in 30 level 2

2 days a week: rest

I am doing 7 days per level for Ripped in 30. I had considered upping it to 10 days a level but I fear I will get bored and slack if I don’t stick to the program. So today I begin level 2! Fearful because it will hurt but excited nonetheless.

My rest days are not set, I pick whichever days my schedule-or exhaustion-does not allow for me to squeeze in a work out. The rest days are great for my body because after a run my muscles are usually too sore for me to attempt a workout the following day, so a rest day helps me recover.

How is your fitness mission going? Remember, like Jillian says, “UNLESS YOU PUKE, FAINT OR DIE, KEEP MOVING!!!!”

Leave a Reply

