The African Market

???????????????????????????????A week ago I attended my first African Market! Albeit for less than half an hour and at a time when most of the performers had left the stage. I was , however, desperate to go and didn’t let my tardiness rain on my parade.

The African Market is one of the two events that form the Entrepreneurship and Cultural Pride Expo (Facebook event page here) and took place on the 24th of August at the Bojanala Water Front. The second event is the “Afro-lize Me” fashion and art expo which is to take place on the 13th October at Sanita’s Nusery and Garden center (Facebook event page here). The aim of the African market is to “encourage production, creativity and networking at the local & regional level. A push – in the ‘Buy local Campaign’!” And from the little I saw and experienced, they definitely succeeded in doing just that.

There were numerous stalls selling everything from jewelry to food and services. Entertainment was also provided by a varied line up of artists and performers at the event.  I was there for specific mission, buy vegetables from a lady called Julia Farmer who’d won me over with her Asian veggies, more on that here. At her stall she had cake pops, some homemade jams, lemonade, chocolate and veggies grown at her farm.

Julia Farmer
Julia Farmer

??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????

The cake pops were lovely, I got myself a chocolate one. I wish I had a huge box of them in my fridge, they make me feel less guilty than a whole slice of cake would.

Speaking of cake, one of my friends and fellow bloggers Fatma had a stall where she was selling slices of red velvet cake with chocolate in the middle and cream cheese and cappuccino frosting, simply sinful! Check out her recap of the event here.???????????????????????????????She was also selling kangas which are rectangular pieces of cloth with a pattern printed on them and they are very popular in East Africa. Read all about them here on her blog. Unlike other types of African print cloths, all kangas have a message written in swahili along the bottom of the cloth as seen below. Think of it like a cloth version of the PS chocolate bars! For example, the yellow cloth below says “Pokea sawadi swahibu wangu/a gift for my friend” while the pink one says “Karibu mgeni/welcome guest”. She is selling them for 120 Pula and I plan to get myself one! They are also available on order.
??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????

I milled about the stalls taking pictures and also sampled some curry puffs before I left the market.

Yum!
Yum!

A stall that was selling badges made out of bottle tops and funky earrings caught my attention. If I had had enough gold coins I would have gotten myself an afro earring….??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????

I also found the beautiful Jennifer Osei-Mensah who heads up Evolushon Images as a stylist and makeup artist. Her creativity doesn’t stop there, she is also selling African print peplum belts, see below.

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Enjoy more pictures below and make sure you are there at the next African Market and at the Afro-lize Me event in a few weeks!

5 Comments Add yours

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Glad you likey! 🙂

  1. Sharry says:

    Love markets! So many colors and crafts here!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Indeed, it’s always fun and wallet draining! Lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

