30 Day shred Level 2: Quick update

1407443603662494_EgEMvWGr_fSo I’ve finally moved on to level 2 of the 30 day shred and good lawwwd it’s kicking my little booty! I pretty much sailed through level one and was really looking forward to level 2 because I’m inpatient and the faster I push through this, the faster I’ll see some results. However, Jillian totally caught me off guard! There are moments where I pause in the middle of some inhumane exercise, look at the screen and literally say out loud “Jillian you’re killing me!” I kid you not.

The week after I finished level one, I had to travel so I didn’t work out much over that week. I think I squeezed in 4 days. This week though I’m settled again and I’ve designated my mornings to shredding. I’m not stressed about skipping days too much because in some cases it’s beyond my control. I just try get back into it as soon as possible. It’s really convenient that the workout is only 20 minutes because it’s easy to set aside that amount of time whereas an hour or more is slightly harder.

Like I mentioned in this previous post, the workout is divided into 3 circuits which include 3 minutes of strength training, 2 minutes of cardio and 1 minute of abs. Level 2 has really upped the intensity and I find myself breathless by the time I’m on circuit 3. I was considering changing my weights to heavier ones but I quickly changed my mind after doing military presses with leg extensions. As far as my arms are concerned, 1.5 kg is plenty for now. I’m not aiming to go above 2.5 kg generally with my weight training because I don’t want to bulk up too much.

In terms of my body shape, I think I’ll definitely see small changes after I’m done with level 2 because I’m really having to push myself, and that’s when the change happens. Like Shaun T says, “The work doesn’t start until it starts to hurt!” So if it’s too easy, you’re not doing enough!

Below are some of the exercises that really make me suffer:

Burpees with a push up: Begin standing upright. Lower into a squat position with hands on the floor in front of you. Kick your feet back, while simultaneously lowering yourself into the bottom portion of a pushup. Your arms will not be extended. Do one pushup, return to the squat, then stand upright and repeat.If you’re a bad ass, you can add a jump when you get back up.

Burpee-Challenge-Diagram.001-e1336111610689

Chair squat with a v-fly: stand with your feet together and hold a pair of dumbbells at your sides. Keeping your chest lifted, shoulders back and core tight, sit your hips back and bend your knees (as if you were sitting back into a chair) while lifting your arms in a v motion.

v squat

But of course there are some exercises I look forward to, mostly ab ones since my core is surprisingly resilient and I have to do more than 35 reps before I start complaining. The reverse crunch is so much fun for me!

563941_10151095104946788_230485945_n

Staying motivated is a tad bit of a challenge but every time I falter, I google 30 day shred results and I’m ready to go again! If these women of all shapes and sizes got something out of this DVD, I figure I won’t be disappointed either. At the very least it’ll will prepare my body for the next more intense workout DVD.

Leave a Reply

