Model stalking: Natora K Inger

If you’ve been to any modelling event in Botswana you have probably seen this face before, Nature is someone you don’t forget easily. Known for her ever morphing hair styles and her runway walk, Nature is one of the most recognizable local models in Botswana. I first met her at shoot for local designers which was incidentally one of my first modelling experiences.

Despite her wealth of experience in comparison to others who have recently joined the small modelling environment here, she’s far from a “mean girl”, ever calm and collected…

Photo credit: Tshepiso Khan

Meet Nature.

When did you start modelling and why

I did my first photo-shoot when I was 11years old. My friends mum owned a clothing store and asked me to model for her. I had so much fun doing it and I haven’t stopped since!

What was your first modelling job and what was it like?

Since I was so young, my first photo-shoot was really just a lot of fun! We were given a jungle gym to play on and we just had a good time and smiled and laughed a lot. I was lucky to be working with a photographer who was warm and very friendly so it encouraged me to continue modelling.

What are the toughest things about the modelling environment in Botswana for you?

I love my country but I have to admit, we are taking a long time to take our place in the fashion world. We have the designers, photographers, models and everything else we need but perhaps we are yet to acknowledge and accept that fashion in itself IS an industry that could work hand in hand with all Botswana’s other talents and resources to help us take flight and stand proudly on an international level. The fact that fashion is only taken seriously by a select few, definitely makes things difficult!

Photo credit: Clublight photography

What have been the highlights of your modelling career?

It is so difficult for me to share the highlights of my mini-career  I feel like after I’ve answered the question, I’ll remember something else I’ve done that I should have included. Off the top of my head I would say that the Donald Trump modelling expo (when I was 16) was and still is the highlight of my modelling life so far… I always look back at it as the show that made me fall in love with runway.

What are your strengths and weaknesses as a model?

When I first started modelling, I got rejected quite a lot because I was too short and was told I was, “too commercially beautiful and should try beauty pageants instead”. I have NEVER been a beauty pageant type of girl and I didn’t intend on becoming one so the critique simply made me work harder at becoming a better runway model. I’m still shorter than most girls in the industry but I have been told I have a strong walk and an edgy look and that’s what gets me the jobs.

Photo Credit: Donald Chipumha

What is your ultimate modelling dream?

My height always brings me back down to Earth and stops me from going to far with dreams of international modeling hahaha, but I would love to do more shows and simply see where life, God and my drive and persistence takes me.

You are also an musical artist, how does this compliment your modelling side? 

I am a vocalist but I think that is something I do purely for the love of music and the enjoyment that I gain from it. Although many people will disagree with me, I think modelling is a performing art. Taking a designers vision and clothes, and being able to portray the mood and feeling of an outfit and doing so with confidence is something that the other performing arts I am involved with has helped me do… Or at least I HOPE SO!

Photo Credit: Donald Chipumha

Who are your favorite African designers?

People are always annoyed at my answer to this question because I never have the same one haha, at the moment my favourite African designers are Botho Chalebgwa, Mpho Kuaho and Delayna Scott.

Who are your favorite models?

My favourite models are Kate Moss (I’m the same height as her *fingers crossed* haha), Agyness Deyn, Chanel Iman and Kaone Kario.

What advice would you give to anyone trying to model in Botswana?

I would tell anyone trying to be a model in Botswana what I wish somebody had told me when I was starting out. Prepare yourself for a lot of waiting, be patient, take bad criticism in your stride, don’t give up and just stay true to yourself and have fun!

Photo credit: Clublight photography

What has modelling taught you abt yourself?

To be honest, I don’t think modelling has taught me anything about myself that I didn’t already know BUT I can say that it has boosted my confidence a lot and it is the reason I have met and am still in contact with so many people that are still relevant in my life.

A big thank you to Nature! Stay fabulous! 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the
    post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

  2. Denny says:

    I’ve been surfing on-line more than 3 hours today, yet I never discovered any fascinating article like yours.
    It’s pretty value sufficient for me. Personally, if all website owners and
    bloggers made good content as you did, the internet might
    be much more helpful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

