Mid year Movie recap

A few of the movies I was looking forward to in this previous post have finally reached our cinemas so I thought I could share my mini Rotten Tomato reviews and reviews of other movies that have found their way to my computer through friends. I must warn you…I am a basic critic at best, a paragraph is more than enough for a review to me.

The Amazing Spider-man

This movie just premiered last week Friday here in Botswana and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed myself watching this one.

4 out of 5

Review: I really enjoyed this movie on the big screen! I am not a fan of the previous Spider-man movies with Tobey Maguire so I was really excited that they decided to reboot the series. Aside from this new Spidey not being “nerdy” enough (he was actually a really ‘cool’ guy) and a few other minor issues with the story line’s development, all in all worth a watch. Entertaining, covered all the key points and some awesome action scenes. Would be amazing in 3D.

The Avengers

Another one that was perfect for the cinema.

4.5 out of 5

Review: Awesome. The characters screen times were well balanced, everybody got a chance to shine though Iron Man stole the show (of course). The action scenes were just everything and more! Had me feeling like a kid in a candy store. Enough humor, enough action, not too much dialogue. Im sorry I cannot complain about this movie. If I get the chance to watch it again I will (and I did!). This movie truly lived up to the hype. As far as comic book movies go, this one just took it up a notch.

Prometheus

This was a little disappointing.

3 out of 5

I was quite impressed with Charlize Theron and Michael Fassbender’s performances. the story itself was a bit more hollow than I expected and left a few blank spaces for me but entertaining enough and visually exciting. I’m not a sci-fi fan but my attention was held throughout, though painstakingly.

Safe House

This was entertaining enough in the cinema but when I watched it at home it was quite boring.

3 out of 5

Really average plot but brilliant performances by Reynolds and Washington-who has played a role like this quite a few times already.Despite the basic story line the action in it is just enough to show you a good time and it ends up being such an awesome 2 hours. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Battleship

Awful.

1 out of 5

It’s vaguely entertaining, if you switch off your brain long enough to let the cliches slide. Everything about it spells D list action movie. The ending is obvious from the beginning and the formula is tired. hot blonde+hot guy+strict father+random black people (Rihanna and a male) +aliens = saving the world from total destruction. The acting gets you by but the story line is just so bland. Not worth my pennies.

Chronicle

4 out of 5

Surprisingly awesome. It started off VERY slow. bcz its shot in found-footage style it becomes a lil annoying at first and the lack of a sound track doesnt help because I’m not used to so much silence in the background. However once the story picks up it’s hard to ignore it. It took me a few attempts to get through it but I urge you to sit it out. Its well worth it.

The following are movies that have been released but I am yet to see: Snow white and the huntsman, The Dictator, Madagascar 3, Think like a man and Men in Black 3.

The following will be showing in the next few weeks and I hope I’ll be able to see them all: The Dark Knight Rises, Brave and Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter.

I actually laughed out loud when I first saw the Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter trailer in the cinema. The idea just seems soooooo ridiculous!!! But I am intrigued, at the very least I will be amused!

A former president killing Vampires with an axe, what more do you need?

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

