Red Table Talks and My mum

I just watched Jada Pinkett-Smith’s first Red Table Talk with her mother Adrienne Banfield Jones and daughter Willow. I wish it had been longer than 18mins!!! I hope she does more soon!!! This particular video was released on Mothers day, befittingly so.

Jada’s idea is to use the Red Table as an open and honest communication zone, where everyone sitting at the table can talk openly and candidly about their views, opinions and feelings on specific issues. Personally, I find it VERY hard to be that open and honest with people I’m close to whether family or friends. I’ve grown up watching the American culture of sharing and openness on various talk shows but that has always been too foreign a concept to apply to my own life. Our African culture tends to be very detached from feelings in that sense. A lot of things go left unsaid in a family setting; there may be that type of communication between a husband and wife, but rarely among the members of a family. So to see it happening across 3 generations was interesting.

The ladies addressed 3 issues: whether Jada views her mother Adrienne as a bad mother because of her drug addition during Jada’s formative years, what Jada struggles with the most when it comes to being a mother and a wife, and finally Willow’s biggest regret in life so far. Take a peak below….

 

And on a personal note…

As for the second part of this post I wanted to share something that made me smile: my mother’s smile. My sister and I have spent most of our recent years away from our parents being that we’re often attending schools far from home so most Mother’s days for my mum now consist of quick phonecalls or texts or emails. However my sister returned home a few days ago and decided to surprise my mum with a home made belated mothers day cake. And she sent this picture of my mum with the cake:

My mother’s smile and laugh is legendary in our household, she always laughs like it’s the last thing she’ll ever do, she puts her heart and soul into it! 🙂 I’m kinda bummed I missed it but I’m happy that she was happy.

Happy Belated Mothers day to all the mothers out there! ♥

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This is very nice. Sadly, I know never to attempt such a thing with either of my parents because anything said at that red table would be used against me later on lol. But it’s cute.

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Hahahahaha!!! Indeed.

Leave a Reply

