National Geographic 2011 Photo contest entries

I like to think that in another life I am am uber talented photographer…but in the mean time I shall derive pleasure from the work of other photographers. These are some of the photos entered in the 2011 Nat Geo photo contest that I thought were worth a glance or two.

The winning photograph of a Dragon fly holding on for dear life in the rain.
A rainbow arches over the Philippines' Onuk Island after a rainstorm.
torrential monsoon rain in Bhaktapur

 

Space Shuttle Endeavour STS-130 launches into orbit toward the east, as the stars and waning crescent moon trail toward the west, leaving a beautiful reflection on the Intracoastal Waterway in Ponte Vedra, Florida. This 132-second time exposure of the final night launch of a Space Shuttle, from launch through SRB separation, was taken 115 miles north of Launch Pad 39A at Kennedy Space Center.
University of Michigan, Law Quad Library reminds me Hogwarts Castle from Harry Potter. I went for a stroll on weekend and was enticed to take this picture- Trupti Kulkarni
Hindu women dressed in sari walking in the market of Pushkar, rajastan.
A Very Beautiful and old Parmar kalin Historical Temple of Lord Shiva.

I love images that take me somewhere else, show me something I’ve never seen or show color and light uniquely. If you didn’t particularly care for my selections or if I managed to wet your photography appetite, hop on over to the Nat Geo winners galleries and spend some time perusing over some of these amazing pictures that are in 3 categories: people, places and nature.

 

 

Leave a Reply

