How you like me now?

During the second scene of The Fighter (which I watched a few weeks ago-great movie!) there was this catchy rock-y james Brown-funk-like song that played and I couldn’t get it out of my head, so much so that I had to hunt it down. (shoutout to Google for this one! Y’all always come though!)

It turns out its sung by The Heavies and they are a British indie rock band of 4. They consist of Guitarist Dan Taylor and vocalist Kelvin Swaby, the core of the group, and the other members of the band are drummer Chris Ellul and bassist Spencer Page.

They’re music style is quite mixed. They do everything from funk to neo soul, garage rock and rap. They have released two albums so far: Great Vengeance and Furious Fire (2007) and The House That Dirt Built (2009).

The song that caught my ear is “How you like me now” and is from their second album. Video below.

I really didn’t expect the vocalist to be the black dude, lol. 🙂

Leave a Reply

