Ayikai Couture

I checked Le Coil today (natural hair photo blog) and came across this pic which I jus LOVE!!

The picture is simply gorgeous!!! Love the colour, the outfit everythang!!! I followed the source link and it lead me to the Ayikai Couture Facebook group. Now I’m not one to wear overly African attire (it’s just never been my thing) but I adore the designs and cut of the clothing so much I want them all!!!

The label is called Ayikai Couture and it was established in 2009 by Ghanaian designer Antoinette AYIKAI Amuzu and in her own words:

The garments feature natural fibre, hand dyed exotic batik fabric and elegantly tailoring punctuated with carefully selected accents for multi-ethnic flair. These creations are designed for fun and for sophistication, for the young and the mature, for slim and full figures.
My lines consist of one-of-a-kind, unique creations and of limited series.

The patterns and colours of the clothing are unique and vibrant, adding spice and spark to any wardrobe. The patterns depict the adinkra symbols of Ghana, each with a significant meaning. These symbols were developed by the Ashante people of West Africa and can be traced back to the 17th century. Over time, the number of symbols grew. In modern times, they have been used for every-day wear, as well as for special occasions.

Unfortunately I don’t think they have a website up yet but the designer can be contacted via this email add: amuzu7@hotmail.com and they had a fashion show recently in London. Browse through the albums if you have time the clothing is simply gawwwwjussss!!! ^.^

Here are a couple of my favourites from the Summer range:

Just Fabulous hunny!!!

Leave a Reply

